top of page
  • Writer's pictureWorldwide Fantasy Club

WFC NRL SuperCoach 2021 Team Reveals


With my team, I have tried to find a balance between guns, mid rangers and cheapies. I think I have a solid core of players who I can rely on for points, enough cheapies and mid rangers who will make cash, and have picked a few PODs who I'm hoping can get me off to a fast start.

HOK


Connor Watson ($288,600) – Watson is expected to begin the season starting at lock for the Knights. He has a very SuperCoach friendly style of play, so if he plays around 50 minutes, he should be able to score well enough to be a starting hooker in SuperCoach and make plenty of cash too.


-----------------------------------------------------------------

Lachlan Lam ($310,100) – A starting halfback who kicks goals and plays for the best attacking team in the competition – yes please! Lam has previously played two 80 minute games in the halves for the Roosters for scores of 40 and 45. These scores were made up completely of base and base attack points (no tries/try assists), so he seems like a safe option who could score big if he picks up some attacking stats.


Other options I’m considering: Damien Cook ($621,000), Api Koroisau ($587,300), Reece Robson ($491,700).


FRF


Tino Fa'asuamaleaui ($504,900) – Big Tino will be the starting lock for the Titans and should play 50+ MPG. He averaged 64 PPG when playing 40+ minutes last season, so there’s potential for consistent scores and cash generation.


Matt Lodge ($299,000) – With Haas suspended, Lodge should start at prop for the Broncos over the opening few rounds of the season at least. Lodge is a gun of the past so will hopefully recapture that form early in the season and make around $100k.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Spencer Leniu ($218,500) – Having lost Tamou and Tetevano from the front row rotation, there are minutes on offer in the Panthers pack. Hopefully Leniu picks up around 30 MPG and makes a bit of money.


Stefano Utoikamanu ($186,800) – He did only play 24 minutes last season, but Stefano scored at a PPM of 1.79 in that time. If he nabs a bench spot at the Tigers in round 1, he has reasonable money making potential.


Other options I’m considering: Sio Siua Taukeiaho ($562,500), Addin Fonua-Blake ($528,000), Christian Welch ($543,500), Ben Murdoch-Masila ($330,000), Ryan James ($236,700), Poasa Faamausili ($232,700), Peter Hola ($203,100), Zac Saddler ($173,700).


2RF


Angus Crichton ($670,500) – Ever since his breakout 2017 season where he averaged 73 PPG as a starting back-rower but was available at CTW, Angus has been one of my favourite SuperCoach options. He’s an absolute gun and it wouldn’t feel right not owning him.


Ryan Matterson ($666,000) – Matto is my other big gun in the forwards. He’s super consistent (didn’t score <60 last season, excluding the game he was knocked out in) and knows how to find attacking stats to bump his score up to around 100. For me, a set and forget.


Joe Tapine ($548,300) – My first big POD pick. Tapine played 15 games in the middle last season (8 starting, 7 bench) scoring at 1.34 PPM, the highest of any middle forward with 5+ starts. Furthermore, he averaged 73.2 PPG when playing 45+ mins in the middle. Due to these numbers and his early draw, I’m keen on Joey Tapine now that he has made a full-time switch to the lock position.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Jordan Riki ($277,500) – I was impressed with what I saw from Riki last season, so if he starts, he’s in my side.


Joe Stimson ($228,900) – The word is that Stimson will start a prop for the Dogs over the opening month of the season until Luke Thompson returns from suspension. If that happens, there’s money to be made and some solid points on offer.


Shawn Blore ($210,500) – Like Riki, Blore was very impressive in his limited opportunities last season. If he starts on an edge, he’ll be in my side.


Other options I’m considering: Mitch Barnett ($543,300), Jackson Ford ($361,700), Andrew Davey ($336,600), Ben Murdoch-Masila ($330,000), Keaon Koloamatangi ($301,200), Ryan James ($236,700), Zac Saddler ($173,700).


HFB


Nathan Cleary ($734,300) – At 47% ownership, Cleary is the only starting halfback who is currently owned by more than 10% of SuperCoaches. He is by far the best player at the position, so I’m happy to lock him in.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Connor Tracey ($258,100) – Tracey is a real chance to be the starting fullback at the Sharks in round 1. He’s cheap and has dual HFB/5/8 positioning, so he’s one I’m keen on (provided he starts).


Other options I’m considering: Mitch Moses ($481,000), Chanel Harris-Tavita ($425,900), Jayden Sullivan ($205,500), Sam Walker ($173,700).


5/8


Dylan Brown ($564,700) – My next big POD is Dylan Brown. His floor of around 40 is one of the highest of any 5/8, so all he needs is one attacking stat to score 80+. I like the Eels’ early draw and he plays in round 13, so I’m willing to take the punt on Brown.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Michael Morgan ($386,700) – Excluding injury affected games, Morgan averaged 56.6 PPG last season, only scoring <46 once in five games. With a favourable early draw and under a new coach, Morgan should score well enough to be a top 17 option most weeks as well as make cash.


Other options I’m considering: Cameron Munster ($620,100), Kurt Mann ($570,200), Chanel Harris-Tavita ($425,900), Matt Burton ($341,200), Josh Schuster ($203,100).


CTW


Brian Kelly ($498,900) – Another POD in my side. Kelly averaged 62.5 PPG last season if you take out his injury affected game and his round 1 bench appearance, making him under priced. I think Kelly’s in for another big season.


Edrick Lee ($386,200) – Yes, Edrick Lee is currently in my team. The Knights have a dream draw over the opening six games, so I’m hoping Lee can cross for a few tries and get me off to a fast start.


Reimis Smith ($324,600) – Smith only scored four tries last season, but still averaged 37 PPG. Now playing for the Storm, he is bound to score more tries, so I like Smith’s upside.


Charlie Staines ($297,700) – Currently owned by 53% of SuperCoaches, Staines is the most popular player in the game. While he won’t average 112 PPG this season, he has huge upside and will make money.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Bailey Simonsson ($205,000) – Simo is very cheap after averaging only 23 PPG last season. He’s bound to better that in 2021, but there’s money to be made and I’ll play him based on match ups.


Max Feagai ($203,100) – Max Feagai is a strong chance of partnering Zac Lomax in the centres for the Dragons. If he does, he’s a pretty good money making option.


Haze Dunster ($173,700) – I’m hoping Dunster starts at left centre, but if he doesn’t I’m happy to keep him in my side as an NPR.


Other options I’m considering: Bradman Best ($551,900), Valentine Holmes ($509,400), Kurt Capewell ($423,900), Will Hopoate ($398,600), Jack Bird ($381,100), Blake Ferguson ($352,900), Jamayne Isaako ($346,400), Dylan Walker ($306,300), James Roberts ($277,700), Jason Saab ($233,200), Tesi Niu ($232,500), Daine Laurie ($223,200), Tui Katoa ($203,100).


FLB


James Tedesco ($843,100) – It’s hard to justify picking anyone at nearly $850k to start a season and I expect some regression from Teddy this season. However, his upside is hard to ignore and I’m scared of not owning him for one of his 150+ scores.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Tom Trbojevic ($593,500) – My first picked player, every year. In my opinion, he’s the best fullback in the NRL, and the best FLB in SuperCoach. His point scoring potential is similar to Teddy’s but he’s priced at $250k less. For me, he’s a lock.


Other options I’m considering: AJ Brimson ($651,600), Ryan Papenhuyzen ($629,000), Dylan Edwards ($608,800).




In 2021, I am going to run with a bold new strategy which I trialed last season - start with only 17/25 playing players, fit in as many guns as I can and fill the rest of my team with fodder. I'll focus purely on points to begin the season, and think about money-making once cheapies or low BE players pop up throughout the season.


HOK

Harry Grant ($633,100) – In my opinion, Grant is easily the standout option at HOK. After dominating in his breakout season, I expect him to continue with a base of around 50 but offer even greater attacking upside with players like Munster and Papenhuyzen around him.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Victor Radley ($445,500) – He's coming back from injury so is likely to come off the bench, but if he starts, I'm keen on Radley. He is heavily involved in the Roosters attack so should pick up a lot of attacking stats to go with a base of around 50-55.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Other options I’m considering: Jacob Liddle ($247,200) – He will be a good cash cow, and I am strongly considering putting him in my side; Connor Watson ($288,600) – If he's starting in the #13 jersey in round 1, it'll be hard to leave Watson out, either at hooker or 5/8.


FRF


Sio Siua Taukeiaho ($562,500) – A huge contributor last season, scoring 60+ points regularly and offering high upside. Should do even better this season if he's kicking goals.

Josh Papalii ($560,400) – Another one who will score a safe 60 points, but offer high upside due to his try-scoring potential.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Other options I’m considering: Tino Fa'asuamaleaui ($504,900) – I expect Tino to do well this season, so I'm try to fit him in my team; Matt Lodge ($299,000) – A top option at his price. Was scared to initially go with him as the Broncos have such a deep forward pack that Lodge might not get the minutes or the involvement over a prolonged period, but he's still one I'm considering; Aiden Tolman ($572,200) – I've always like TolPOD as a plodder in my FRF. I'm not quite sure what his role and ouput will be at the Sharks, but I'm keeping my eye on him.



2RF


Ryan Matterson ($666,000) – Despite being a Manly fan, I have a secret love for Matto. He always produces good base points, throws a lot of offloads, and gets among the attacking stats as well. He will be around the top 2RFs in SuperCoach once again.


Jason Taumalolo ($641,700) – The guy has averaged 70+ for four seasons running. I don't think his drop in minutes will affect him too much, as his work rate should increase.


Kurt Capewell ($423,900) – Despite possibly starting on the bench or even at centre, I'm hoping that Capewell starts on an edge for Penrith, providing me with solid points and making money. I like the CTW cheapies more than the cheapies at 2RF, so once they have made money, I'll sell them, move Capewell down to CTW and buy a better 2RF.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Other options I’m considering: Angus Crichton ($670,500) – The usual scores will flow but his price has ballooned so high I can't fit him in; Isaah Yeo ($612,600) – Last season's best cash cow turned gun. I really like him as an option still, but he's now priced at over $600k making it hard to start with him unless I sacrifice elsewhere; Ryan James ($236,700) – New start in Canberra and has been handy in the past. A back-up to the big guns and can rotate between FRF and 2RF being a dual. 236k on your bench and the possibility of cash cow looks tempting. Finger cross he is in the Raiders side in round 1; Jordan Riki ($277,500) – If he starts, he will be hard to ignore; Shawn Blore ($210,500) – Again, if he starts, I'll consider putting him in my team.


HFB

Nathan Cleary ($734,300) – Last year's best halfback. Penrith look strong again this season and there's no reason why he won’t average something ridiculous again.


5/8


Cameron Munster ($620,100) – Despite sometimes being an error machine due to his ball usage rate, his link up with Harry Grant and Ryan Papenhuyzen could see and increase his SuperCoach scoring this season. While I think there's the slight potential that this could go the other way and Grant becomes the dominant ball handler causing Munster’s involvement to go down, I still think Munster will be the highest averaging 5/8 this year.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Matt Moylan ($253,600) – Absolute steal at this price for a player who has proven in the past he is a worthy Supercoach option. Most likely will be a central to the Sharks attack so points should flow. Wouldn’t be surprised if he gets a stint at fullback either over the course of the regular season. Cash cow and scoring potential.


CTW


Valentine Holmes ($509,400) – A bit of a gamble, but offers high potential if he wins the #1 jersey at the Cowboys. The dual positioning allows for cover at the fullback spot if injury prone Tom Trbojevic suffers again.


Charlie Staines ($297,700) – An exciting prospect that has great potential to score a lot of attacking points. At under 300k, he'll be a cash cow and a top 17 player.


James Roberts ($277,700) – I'm still reminiscing about those Brisbane days and his gun 2017 season. A fresh start at the Tigers where he should be a main option in attack could see solid and consistent scoring.


Bailey Simonsson ($205,000) – At 205k starting on the wing of a top 4 side, it's an easy yes to being selected in my Supercoach squad.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Tesi Niu ($232,500) – A hit or miss in my mind but I had to include him as he showed good promise last season and I am in hope he will improve this go around. If he can average around 30-40 with the odd 60+ game thrown in, he'll make money and be a gold cash cow.


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Other options I’m considering: Zac Lomax ($605,000) – Some final week tinkering might see the 605k Dragon come in. With goal kicking duties and a nice early draw, he is pretty much the top of my radar;



FLB


James Tedesco ($843,100) – Would it even be Supercoach if you didn’t have Tedesco?


-----------------------------------------------------------------


Tom Trbojevic ($593,500) – Let's hope this season Turbo can stay fit and produce the dazzling form of the past. Every time he plays he scores well. Both him and Tedesco are fixture proof but I will likely captain one or the other most weeks. Unless of course Turbo gets injured again - please no!


527 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page